Stop-Motion Animation on Nails :3

After posting the 2014 nail art video, one of my followers said that I should paint stories on my nails and then make a video of it. It’s actually not a bad idea and I’ve thought of doing something like that before, but I had never set myself to it. Way back in time (aka two years ago, I think) when gif boom was popular, I did some stop motion animations or more like wannabe gifs cx Unfortunately I’ve forgotten my username, so I can’t find them…but I still have the pictures I used for one of them. I’ve put them together so you can see what it looked like 😀 The quality is really bad and it might take some time for it to fully upload, but I couldn’t figure out how to insert the video to the post, without having to upload it to youtube first cx

IMG_7294

So, the other animation I made was of a feather that turned into flying birds. I really like the beginning of it, but towards the end it just looks really messy. That’s mostly because I began to get really sick of re-painting my nails over and over again, so I didn’t bother to be so neat, cause I just wanted to be done with it cx And for those of you who wonder how I did it, I’ve explained it below the video ^^

How I made the animation:

– First I just applied a base coat (Essie “Grow Stronger”) and then painted my nails a solid white-ish color (Essie “Ballet Slippers”) After that had dried for a couple of minutes, I applied a fast drying topcoat (Essie “Good To Go”) I knew that it was very important for my nails to be COMPLETELY dry before starting to paint on them, so I waited until the next day.

– So, knowing that my nails were 100% dry, I could finally begin! I started out using one of my “homemade” brushes and some black acrylic paint. Since I’ve already done feather to birds nails so many times before, I knew (almost) exactly where to paint what. I painted on a little at a time, taking pictures between each step. I just kept on this way until the feather was done.

– I used a toothpick to scrape off some of the paint (this is why the base had to be completely dry) and then I made the very first bird. To make the birds “move” I simply removed it by scraping it off with a toothpick and then painted it again, only this time a few millimetres away. Just like before, I took pictures for each step.

– When I was done with everything, I just cropped all the pictures and imported them to iMovie, where increased the speed. To make it go backwards, I transferred the video back to my phone and edited it in the Lumify App. After putting it all together, I added some music. After hours of work it was finally done!

Leave a comment